Hiking companions

Travelling light through the forest with my GEK 2000 and a Vic Hiker. The big knife carries easily.

I planned on using a (discontinued) Airborne Deluxe Sheath by Blackhawk with the GEK as it fits perfectly in there, but then I found a guy who was actually willing to give me a finely made kydex sheath in exchange for the leather sheath that came with the Eickhorn knife. It´s a perfect companion now and after some initial hacking, cutting, carving and and bark shaving I came to the conclusion that those aluminium grip scales have a good ergonomic character. People either love or hate the open frame design. I guess it depends very much on your hand size in this cutlery case. A paracord lanyard is to be recommended, though.

Leave a Reply

