Orient FER2F004W0 Titanium Automatic

Some weeks ago, I stumbled upon a super elegant dress watch by Orient that had previously hidden well under my radar. It features a 40mm wide case (measured without the crown) made out of polished titanium! Not too small, not overly large, yet super light. You barely notice it on your wrist. There is a black dial version available and one with an all titanium metal bracelet, the latter being more expensive of course.
The crystal is a sapphire, the caseback is solid, hiding the somewhat plain movement. Lug width is an even 22mm. The original strap, like on most Orients I´ve handled, is a stiff and slightly short thing, so I switched it out for a longer and softer version in brown leather with white stitching.
Many dress watches suffer from being a bit hard to read, yet the combination of the ivory guilloche dial and the sharp lumed hands with their deep blue edges makes telling time easy, in all lighting conditions and angles.
So in case you find the great Seiko 5ers too small and the Seiko Spirit models a little too expensive, here is an alternative for around 200 Euros with some great features.
My sample gets a lot of wrist time these days in the office (besides my Certina Quartz diver), yet my concerns about the titanium scratching up too easily are yet unfounded. Maybe I take too much care of my belongings. Anyway, I do not see why this watch is not getting more attention. I cannot find anything to fault on this piece.

or1 or2 or3

Leave a Reply

