Dollar Fountain Pen # 717 from Pakistan

The “Dollar 717” is a piston filler FP made in Pakistan with a nib designed for some Arabic or Persian languages. For my southpaw horizon, it is left-hand oblique that´ll give me nice line variations.

I received two of the somewhat cheap-fealing FPs and had no high hopes performance-wise, yet I was surprised. They are bold and wet writers, and once you get the angle right, will perform without skipping. I loaded one with Koh-I-Noor black and the other with Rohrer & Klingner Cassia.

Considering you can order ten of these pens for 20 dollars including postage from Pakistan, one can live with an occasional lemon. I will use mine mainly for signatures and will have to use an ink that minimizes paper bleed through.

Leave a Reply

